Dirt Drivers 91 Active Users
Register Now  |  Log In
Home   Message Boards   Classifieds   Dirt Driver Directory(tm)   Race Results   Rainout Report(tm)
Login  |   Register Now  |   Memberships  |   Links  |   Chat Room  |   Apparel  |   Advertising  |   Suggestion Box  |   About Us

View Advertiser Index
Message Board
MBSLM Series
Post a New Response
Return to Message Board Subjects

Subject: Highlights from Dale DeFrance Memorial at Marshalltown Speedway 8/5/22
Posted byMessage

MBSLM Series Rep
Posted on 8/6/2022 1:12:55 AM

Neal Rides Marshalltown Top Side to Win Dale DeFrance Memorial
By Anthony Ainslie

The Hauliní with Hoker Trucking Super Late Models East Series returned to action Friday night with the much-anticipated Dale DeFrance Memorial at Marshalltown Speedway.
After the race was rescheduled twice, the DeFrance Memorial took place for round ten of the East Series. A strong field of 37 late models from Iowa, Nebraska and Illinois made the trip to the high banked quarter-mile Marshalltown Speedway.
Andy Eckrich was Fridayís fastest qualifier with a 14.561 lap. The nightís four heat races were won by Joel Calahan, Ben Schaller, Bill Leighton Jr., and Corey Zeitner. After Matt Ryan and East Series Point Leader Justin Kay won the two B-Features, a field of 26 cars was assembled for the 44-lap main event.
Pole Sitter Tad Pospisil took the lead early on. Jake Neal gave chase on the inside line while Pospisil ran the outside line. Neal was able to poke his nose ahead of Pospisil for a few moments, but Pospisil was quick to answer back.
A couple of cautions slowed the race down as Chris Speaker slid off the track in turn one on lap eight, and then three laps later, Jeff Larson spun out on the front stretch. Speaker and Larson would finish 20th and 26th.
When racing resumed, Jake Neal managed to get around Pospisil for the lead with 31 laps remaining in the race. The Omaha, Nebraska driver began running the outside line. Meanwhile, Luke Goedert was making big strides toward the front. Before long, the defending Yankee Dirt Track Classic Winner ran the inside and was challenging for the race lead.
Neal and Goedert went back and forth for the lead. The two drivers ran two different lines. As the race went on, lapped traffic became an issue. Neal had to occasionally get off the top line to get around slower cars. That allowed Goedert to close in only for him to get behind someone on the low side.
When it was all said and done, it was Jake Neal taking home the big win. In only his third ever time driving a late model at Marshalltown Speedway, Neal captured the $4,400 victory. Neal now leads all drivers on the Hauliní with Hoker Trucking East and Malvern Bank West tours with two wins on each tour. The win also put Neal into sixth on the all-time win list with his sixth career win.
Luke Goedert had to settle for second while the top qualifier, Andy Eckrich, came in third. Joel Calahan put together his career best finish with the East Series as he finished fourth, and Jeff Tharp rounded out the top five, his best finish on the tour this year.
The Hauliní with Hoker Trucking East Series continues the weekend on Saturday with one of the richest races of the year. The tour heads to Independence Motor Speedway for the $7,200 to win Denny Osborn Memorial. After that, the Malvern Bank West tour returns to action on August 12th with a. visit to the Thayer County Speedway in Deshler, Nebraska.


Post Your Response View Messages
Log In
View dirtdrivers.com Membership Information

To post messages you must be logged in as a member of dirtdrivers.com.

View Copyright Infringement Contact Information

View Advertiser Index

Become a registered user of dirtdrivers.com!
 Register Now!

Dirt Driver Directory
Ever wondered what your favorite driver does for a living? When he or she started racing? What is behind the number on the car? You don't have to wonder anymore!
 View Dirt Driver Directory

Looking for any new or used racing parts? Check out our online classified section to help find the parts you need!
 View Classifieds

Suggestion Box
Have a suggestion for dirtdrivers.com? Send us an email or drop a suggestion into our Suggestion Box! We welcome your ideas!
 Visit Suggestion Box

Muscle Cars

© Copyright by dirtdrivers.com 2022.
All rights reserved. Reproduction of material appearing on this Web site
is strictly prohibited without written permission.