Dirt Drivers 39 Active Users
Register Now  |  Log In
Home   Message Boards   Classifieds   Dirt Driver Directory(tm)   Race Results   Rainout Report(tm)
Login  |   Register Now  |   Memberships  |   Links  |   Chat Room  |   Apparel  |   Advertising  |   Suggestion Box  |   About Us

View Advertiser Index
Message Board
MBSLM Series
Post a New Response
Return to Message Board Subjects

Subject: Highlights from Season Championship at Speedway Motors Cornhusker Classic at I-80 Speedway 10/12/19
Posted byMessage

MBSLM Series Rep
Posted on 10/13/2019 1:21:54 AM

Leighton Dominates Season Finale at Cornhusker Classic. Berck secures 7th Championship
By Anthony Ainslie
After all the weekends on the road going to and from race tracks, the 2019 season for the Malvern Bank Super Late Model Series came to a close Saturday night.
The series took to the track for the 21st and final round of the 2019 season at the I-80 Speedway for the Speedway Motors Cornhusker Classic. It marked the first time since 2014 the Classic served as the season finale for the tour. A field of 30 cars made the trip on a chilly Saturday afternoon for the last race of the year.
The 30-lap main event was slow to start as three yellow flags came out in the first two laps. When the race got a green flag run going, Bill Leighton Jr. took the lead before the fourth caution came out for a slow car in turn two on lap six.
Just two laps later the final caution came out for a pair of cars getting connected in turn four. From there, the race went clean and green.
Leighton proceeded to run away from the rest of the pack as the green stayed out. Meanwhile, Corey Zeitner, Tad Pospisil, Andrew Kosiski, Robbie Andersen, and Ben Schaller waged absolute war for the second spot. They swapped the positions back and fourth throughout the green flag stretch, even in heavy lapped traffic.
Leighton ran away with the show leading all 30 circuits in route to his first Malvern Bank Series win of the year picking up the $3,000 top prize and the pink trophy for winning the Speedway Motors Cornhusker Classic. Tad Pospisil took second while Andrew Kosiski came in third. Robbie Andersen recorded his best finish of the year with fourth, and Corey Zeitner rounded out the top five.
Further back in the field, Kyle Berck narrowly edged out J.C. Wyman for the ninth spot after starting way back in 17th. With that ninth place finish, Berck clinched the 2019 Malvern Bank Super Late Model Series point championship. This would be a record seventh series title in his career.
Berck finished the championship season with 5 feature wins, 12 top 5 finishes, and 20 top 10’s. Ben Schaller would finish second in the standings for the second consecutive season while Bill Leighton Jr. finished just eight points behind Schaller in third. Corey Zeitner and 2019 Bill Wrich Rookie of the Year Winner Josh Leonard rounded out the top five. Jason O’Brien, Andrew and Brian Kosiski, Tad Pospisil, and Brad Perdue finished out the top ten in points.
And so, the twelfth season for the Malvern Bank Super Late Model Series is officially in the record books. The series saw many things happen throughout the tour’s biggest season ever, and the tour looks to continue its amazing growth for the 2020 season.


Post Your Response View Messages
Log In
View dirtdrivers.com Membership Information

To post messages you must be logged in as a member of dirtdrivers.com.

View Copyright Infringement Contact Information

View Advertiser Index

Become a registered user of dirtdrivers.com!
 Register Now!

Dirt Driver Directory
Ever wondered what your favorite driver does for a living? When he or she started racing? What is behind the number on the car? You don't have to wonder anymore!
 View Dirt Driver Directory

Looking for any new or used racing parts? Check out our online classified section to help find the parts you need!
 View Classifieds

Suggestion Box
Have a suggestion for dirtdrivers.com? Send us an email or drop a suggestion into our Suggestion Box! We welcome your ideas!
 Visit Suggestion Box

© Copyright by dirtdrivers.com 2020.
All rights reserved. Reproduction of material appearing on this Web site
is strictly prohibited without written permission.