Dirt Drivers 311 Active Users
Register Now  |  Log In
Home   Message Boards   Classifieds   Dirt Driver Directory(tm)   Race Results   Rainout Report(tm)
Login  |   Register Now  |   Memberships  |   Links  |   Chat Room  |   Apparel  |   Advertising  |   Suggestion Box  |   About Us

View Advertiser Index
Message Board
I-80 Speedway (NE)
Post a New Response
Return to Message Board Subjects

Subject: Highlights from First Responder's Night 7/2/21
Posted byMessage

I-80 Speedway Rep
Posted on 7/3/2021 12:40:19 AM

Dover, Schaller, Hobscheidt, Stutzman, and Vannausdle win on First Responders Night
By Anthony Ainslie

I-80 Speedway’s annual tribute to the local firefighters, rescue workers, and police officers was in front of a packed house Friday night to start Independence Day weekend.
The latest night of weekly racing at the 4/10-mile oval in Greenwood was the annual First Responders Night which featured the Guns n Hoses King of the Hill race with local firefighters and police officers dueling it out for bragging rights. The win in the single-elimination gauntlet style tournament ultimately went to Omaha Police Department’s Dave Ackerson.
The Malvern Bank 360 Sprint Cars were also in action on Friday along with the super late models, modifieds, stock cars, and compacts as each class took the next step toward crowning the 2021 track champions.
In the sprint car main event, the opening half of the race featured a close battle for the lead between Tyler Drueke and John Klabunde. The battle went on until Klabunde spun out in turn two bringing out the race’s only caution.
On the ensuing restart, Jack Dover got by Drueke for the lead while Jason Martin snuck by with Dover to take second. Drueke would get back around Martin later in the race, but in the end, it was Dover getting his second win at I-80 Speedway. Drueke and Martin took the other podium spots while Cody Ledger and Chris Martin finished out the top five.
In the super late model feature, Brian Kosiski showed the way for the majority of the race. The Papillion was looking for his first win of the 2021 season. A caution four laps in bunched the field up, but then the race went green the rest of the way.
In the final five laps, Defending Track Champion Ben Schaller ran down Kosiski and made the winning pass as the two came off turn four with only two laps remaining. Schaller would go on to collect the main event win. Jake Neal snagged the second spot late in the race, his best finish of the season so far. Kosiski would have to settle for third while Bill Leighton Jr. and Justin Zeitner rounded out the top five.
The modified feature was stop and start in the early laps as two cautions in the first two laps slowed the race down. When racing got going, Clint Homan showed the way. The Bellevue native the first five laps before Jacob Hobscheidt took command.
A late race spin set up a five-lap dash to the finish. Hobscheidt hit marks and took home another win further extending his lead in the point standings. Homan took home his best finish of the year with second while Dylan Sillman, Justin Gregg and Austin Svoboda rounded out the top five.
In the stock car main event, Curt Drake showed the way early on. The multiple-time track champion from Murray, Nebraska led the opening four laps before the defending track champion and point leader, Shane Stutzman, took the lead and would outrun a hard charge from Brad Derry to secure another feature win on the year.
Derry would have to settle for second while Jed Williams took third. Scott Smith got his career best finish as the usual modified driver brought his stock car and finished fourth. Meanwhile, Curt Drake would finish out the top five.
The compact feature saw a close battle for the win between Chris Vannausdle and Devin Bruce. Vannausdle led early before Bruce took the lead and never looked back.
However, the race would be cut short as an accident brought out the red flag with just two laps remaining. The delay was long enough to push the race beyond it’s allotted time limit. The race was called official with two laps left, and Devin Bruce was credited with the win. Chris Vannausdle was second while Adam Smith, John Danaher and Dan Markham rounded out the top five.


Post Your Response View Messages
Log In
View dirtdrivers.com Membership Information

To post messages you must be logged in as a member of dirtdrivers.com.

View Copyright Infringement Contact Information

View Advertiser Index

Become a registered user of dirtdrivers.com!
 Register Now!

Dirt Driver Directory
Ever wondered what your favorite driver does for a living? When he or she started racing? What is behind the number on the car? You don't have to wonder anymore!
 View Dirt Driver Directory

Looking for any new or used racing parts? Check out our online classified section to help find the parts you need!
 View Classifieds

Suggestion Box
Have a suggestion for dirtdrivers.com? Send us an email or drop a suggestion into our Suggestion Box! We welcome your ideas!
 Visit Suggestion Box

Muscle Cars

© Copyright by dirtdrivers.com 2021.
All rights reserved. Reproduction of material appearing on this Web site
is strictly prohibited without written permission.