Dirt Drivers 300 Active Users
Register Now  |  Log In
Home   Message Boards   Classifieds   Dirt Driver Directory(tm)   Race Results   Rainout Report(tm)
Login  |   Register Now  |   Memberships  |   Links  |   Chat Room  |   Apparel  |   Advertising  |   Suggestion Box  |   About Us

View Advertiser Index
Message Board
I-80 Speedway (NE)
Post a New Response
Return to Message Board Subjects

Subject: Highlights from Night 2 of Speedway Motors Cornhusker Classic 10/10/20
Posted byMessage

I-80 Speedway Rep
Posted on 10/11/2020 3:04:40 AM

Sobbing, Murty, Thompson, Hobscheidt, Kohl, and Mahlberg take Cornhusker Classic Titles
By Anthony Ainslie

Saturday marked the finale of the Speedway Motors Cornhusker Classic as well as the 2020 season at I-80 Speedway as over 230 drivers battled it out for the big pay checks at the end of the night.
All six classes from the previous night were back in action for the last chance qualifying races as well as the big shows for all the marbles to close out a very busy Speedway Cornhusker Classic. At the end of the night, some new and some familiar faces returned to victory lane to take the hardware and the top dollars that went with the win.
Saturday’s $5,000 to win modified feature saw Jesse Sobbing in command for all 40 laps. However, he had to fend off multiple charges throughout the race from defending race winner Jordan Grabowski. Despite five yellow flags stopping and starting the racing action, including two cautions in the last three laps, Sobbing held on to take home the big win one year after losing out on the win on the last lap.
Grabowski took second while Todd Shute took third while Darron Fuqua and Kelly Shryock rounded out the top five.
The stock cars did 24 laps for their main event as part of the rescheduled Don Mohr Tribute. Jordan Grabowski took the opening lead. The Beatrice native led until first-time racer at I-80 Speedway, Dallon Murty, caught and passed Grabowski for the lead with 12 laps remaining.
From that point, the teenage hot shoe out of Chelsea, Iowa pulled away from the field and scored a surprising upset victory. Grabowski would have to settle for second while Dusty VanHorn, Chanse Hollatz and Todd Reitzler finished out the top five.
Saturday’s sport mod finale went caution free for all 25 laps. Up front, defending race winner Cody Thompson and Lance Borgman ran first and second. The duo ran side by side on many occasions and had to navigate heavy lapped traffic in the late stages of the race.
When the dust settled, Thompson successfully defended his Cornhusker Classic title taking the win. Borgman took second while Cade Richards put in a strong third-place finish. Devyn Peterson and Robbie Thome finished out the top five.
The Bragging Rights late model feature had many cautions stop and start the event. In the short green flag stints, Cory Dumpert, Andrew Kosiski and Jacob Hobscheidt all took turns leading laps.
After the race ran long with many yellow flags, the race was cut to a five-lap dash to the finish. On the ensuing restart, first and second place running Kosiski and Dumpert made contact as they went into turn three causing both drivers to spin out.
Jacob Hobscheidt inherited the lead, and after the spin, the race was called official giving Hobscheidt his first career late model feature win at his home track. Blair Kraus took second while Cole Wayman finished in third. Chase Brown took fourth in his first ever Cornhusker Classic feature, and Andrew Tilley rounded out the top five.
In Saturday’s hobby stock main event, Missouri Valley, Iowa’s Jason Kohl led the stampede of cars around the top side of the speedway. All the while, Luke Ramsey, John Watson and Dillon Richards among others kept the race close as they looked for a chance to pass for the lead.
Friday’s feature winner Roy Armstrong was also in the lead pack battling for the second spot with Richards early on. However, his race was cut short with mechanical issues a few laps before the halfway point. He would finish 21st in the final order.
Bad luck would strike Ramsey as he pulled into the pits with a flat tire while the race was under caution with only four laps to go. He would finish in 14th.
Meanwhile, Jason Kohl held off all challengers to secure the feature win. John Watson took second with Dillon Richards, Tyler Barribo and Tanner Dixon to round out the top five.
The compact feature began with Devin Bruce showing the way early. His lead was short-lived as he pulled off the track on the third lap while leading with a flat tire. That handed the top spot over to Jacob Schwab who swapped the lead with fellow Nebraskan Zach Bohlmeyer.
The final pass for the lead was made when Caine Mahlberg dove into turn three and scooted past Bohlmeyer with just three laps to go. From there, the Dunlap, Iowa native took home the win, his first win at I-80 Speedway since 2011.
Zach and Drake Bohlmeyer took second and third while Friday’s feature winner Dustin Grout took fourth, and Jacob Schwab rounded out the top five.


Post Your Response View Messages
Log In
View dirtdrivers.com Membership Information

To post messages you must be logged in as a member of dirtdrivers.com.

View Copyright Infringement Contact Information

View Advertiser Index

Become a registered user of dirtdrivers.com!
 Register Now!

Dirt Driver Directory
Ever wondered what your favorite driver does for a living? When he or she started racing? What is behind the number on the car? You don't have to wonder anymore!
 View Dirt Driver Directory

Looking for any new or used racing parts? Check out our online classified section to help find the parts you need!
 View Classifieds

Suggestion Box
Have a suggestion for dirtdrivers.com? Send us an email or drop a suggestion into our Suggestion Box! We welcome your ideas!
 Visit Suggestion Box

Muscle Cars

© Copyright by dirtdrivers.com 2021.
All rights reserved. Reproduction of material appearing on this Web site
is strictly prohibited without written permission.